2019 Memorial Scholarship

Montana CattleWomen Inc. offer $1000 Memorial Scholarship for the 57th Consecutive Year

For the fifty-seventh consecutive year, Montana CattleWomen, Inc. is offering a $1,000 scholarship to a student from a Montana home that is enrolled in one of the state colleges or universities. Preference will be given to an applicant majoring in a field beneficial to the livestock industry.

To qualify for this award, a student must currently be at least a sophomore in college and have a grade point average of 2.7 or better. The scholarship will be awarded to the student who is determined to have the best balance of grades, citizenship, and financial need. The winner will be announced after May 2019.

Application forms are available at college Financial Aid Offices throughout Montana.  Interested students may contact the scholarship chair, Laramie Smith, by phone (406) 660-7304 or email

Applications must be submitted no later than April 15, 2019.

Please contact your local school personnel and members of your local CattleWomen/CowBelle group, as they may know of a student from your local area who qualifies for the scholarship and wishes to apply. These students should be contacted and informed of the scholarship.

This scholarship is supported by a memorial fund, separate from the general fund of Montana CattleWomen. Tax deductible donations from individuals and CattleWomen locals are the only source of income for the fund. We would encourage you to consider making a donation to the scholarship fund. Most gifts are sent in memory of an individual. The family of that person is notified that the gift was made. It is also acknowledged at a memorial service during the annual state convention in December.

Thanks for your help by supporting our young people and our industry through this scholarship.

This scholarship was established in 1963 and has been awarded to worthy students since that time.

Montana CattleWomen announce scholarship recipient for the 57th Year

The 2019 Montana CattleWomen’s Memorial Scholarship has been awarded to Greta Gustafson, a student at Montana State University, Bozeman. Greta is majoring in Microbiology and Immunology and minoring in Pre-Veterinary Medicine. Following in her father and grandfather’s footsteps, her goal is to return to her homeland to serve the surrounding communities with a mixed-animal veterinary practice, with a focus on beef cattle.

Greta Gustafson, 2019 Montana CattleWomen Scholarship recipient

Greta is the daughter of Barr and Colleen Gustafson of Browning, Montana. As a third generation rancher and veterinarian, Greta sees the shortage of rural large animal vets. The US Census Bureau predicts there will be a shortage of 15,000 veterinarians by 2025, predominately in the food animal sector.

After reviewing the nearly flawless application with impressive transcripts, resume, and letters of recommendation, the 2019 MCW Scholarship Committee is pleased to award Greta with the scholarship.

The Montana CattleWomen’s Memorial Scholarship is $1,000, and is funded through memorials. This scholarship was established in 1963, which makes this the 56th consecutive year it has been awarded.

Thank you, Greta! The Montana CattleWomen are proud to invest in you!

Past recipients of the MCW Memorial Scholarship:

Montana CattleWomen announce scholarship recipient for the 56th Year

The 2018 Montana Cattlewomen’s Memorial Scholarship has been awarded to Kyler Maharg of Helena, Montana. Kyler is pursuing a Bachelor of Science at the Montana State University (MSU) College of Agriculture in Animal Science. He has completed his first year at MSU in this program with a 4.0-grade point average. Kyler is a former high school graduate from Helena High and grew up on his multi-generation family ranch near Helena, Montana.

Kyler believes “One of the biggest issues that affects the agricultural industry today is lack of education. Many people don’t know where their food comes from.” He further stated that “Every student in the 3rd or 4th grade should experience a day at the farm/ranch.” As a strong advocate for educating children about agriculture, Kyler has been instrumental with his family in bringing children to their ranch to show them and let them experience first hand “where their food comes from.” He plans to expand this program to all 3rd graders in the Helena School District and hopes to help expand this program throughout the entire state of Montana.

The Montana Cattlewomen’s Scholarship is in the amount of $1,000 and is funded through memorials. This scholarship was established in 1963 and has been awarded to a worthy recipient every year since its inception.
With a passion for ranching and educating young people about agriculture, Kyler will continue to be a strong contributor to the agriculture and livestock industry. Congratulations Kyler!

2018 : Kyler Maharg of Helena
2017 : Peter Taylor of Kirby
2016 : Allie Nelson of Great Falls
2015 : Lilly Brogger of Three Forks
2014 : Ariel Overstreet-Adkins of Helena
2013 : Calli Oiested of McLeod
2012 : James J Woodring of Townsend
2011 : Whitney Hoyem of Wilsall
2010 : Aaron DeVries of Malta
2009 : Tom Brown of Helena
2008 : Kari Gillespie of Kevin
2007 : James Brown of Helena
2006 : Lindsey Foard of Roundup

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s